Benefits of Acting Exams

LAMDA Acting exam Syllubus and grades explained

‘LAMDA (London Academy of Music and Dramatic Art) examinations are designed to equip learners, whatever their age or aspirations, with a range of skills which will serve them throughout life.’ LAMDA examination syllubus book

Studying the LAMDA Acting course you will develop:

  • Interpretative skills by exploring style, form, character, subtext and context, technical skills and knowledge of the performance process. To focus on the character and create a credible sense of reality when acting.
  • Technical skills by building skills such as voice, diction and movement within a characters situation.
  • Knowledge of performance process to understand staging, context, subtext, style, character situation and period movement in some cases. Your child will develop an understanding of the key principles of Brecht, Edward Gordon Craig and Stanislavski.

The qualification is in 4 levels, and can be performed as solo, a duologue or combined.

Entry – Entry Exam

Level 1 – Grades 1, 2 & 3

Level 2 – Grades 4 & 5

Level 3 – Grade 6 (Bronze Medal), Grade 7 (Silver Medal) & Grade 8 (Gold Medal) (equivalent to AS and A Levels and you gain UCAS points).

After level 3 there is the PCert.